Review – Keep Them Close by Sophie Flynn

Review – Keep Them Close by Sophie Flynn

I’m never normally much of a thriller reader, but if there’s one book which is going to convert me to become a fan of the genre, it’s Keep Them Close by Sophie Flynn. I’ve been in a bit of a reading slump all summer in the sense that I’ve been reading but I’ve not felt that compulsive urge to put everything on hold because I’m desperate to finish a book; little did I know, Keep Them Close was the perfect tonic to cure my slump.

Summary:

Emily, mother of four-year-old twin daughters, hasn’t been finding motherhood easy. The only place where she feels understood and free of judgement is on an online internet forum, MumsOnline. Her anonymity on the site allows her to voice her darkest thoughts, things she could never say in real life, but when an internet friendship blossoms with a fellow mum, she realises she’s shared too much. As the online “friend” begins to threaten Emily with secrets from her past, she takes drastic measures to protect her perfect life.

My Review:

What can I say about this book other than that I completely loved it? Sophie cleverly interweaves chapters between Emily’s internet posts and the current day, so there’s an intoxicating foreboding throughout the entire book. The dual timeline adds layers of secrets to Emily’s puzzling past and I found myself trying to turn the pages quicker than I could read them, desperate to find out what terrible accident had happened in her past (I won’t say anything more on this, but OH MY you’re in for a shock twist!)

I completely love an unreliable, unlikeable narrator, and as the story develops and Emily’s mental state becomes increasingly confused, it’s difficult for the reader to know who to trust or whether the events we’re seeing are real or imagined. Unlike some thrillers I’ve read before, Emily’s fragile mental state isn’t just used as a narrative tool, instead, Sophie sensitively engages with post-natal depression and the struggles facing new parents. You can feel Emily’s desperation as everyone around her begins to doubt her ability as a mother, and despite all her terrible qualities, I couldn’t help my heart wrenching for her. You can tell in the way that Sophie carefully treats the theme of mental health, just how close to home this book was for her to write and it is one of the novel’s greatest strengths.

I don’t want to spoil too much, especially in terms of the explosive ending, but I really can’t recommend this to thriller lovers enough. This dark, twisty psychological thriller will have you on the edge of your seat right until the very end. Sophie’s next book, If They Knew, is out in November and I am SO GLAD I don’t have long to wait for my next dose of her writing!

Star Rating: 4/5

Leave a comment